loose panel control

Errors and unexpected results
Post Reply
User avatar
joleenf
Posts: 1120
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:16 pm

loose panel control

Post by joleenf »

Hi,

I am fairly certain I reported the following error with boomstick(), but not sure if I have reported with the movement of data from panel to panel.

There is a quick way to bring the display panel for a layer to the front from the layer controls.
If the user clicks the "untitled>panel 1" tab in the layer controls, the display window is brought
forward. For ease, this will be called "panel to front." In both McV 1.6 and 1.7 it is possible
to loose that control:

1.) Start a new McV session. One display window/control exists. (Tab#1)
2.) Load data into that panel (I am using DOE data, but I don't think that matters)
3.) Navigate to the layer controls for the data.
Place layer controls in front of the display window
Click on "untitled>panel 1" tab to verify that "panel to front" works
4.) Create a new display tab (Two display window/controls exist in tab format - Tab#1, Tab#2)
5.) Load data into Tab#2
6.) Click on layer controls for data in Tab#2
Place Layer controls in front of display window
Click on "untitled>panel 1" tab for Tab#2 to verify that "panel to front" works.
Verify that it still works for Tab#1
7.) Load more data into Tab#1
8.) Move the new data from Tab#1 to Tab#2
9.) Repeat Step 6 for Tab#1 and Tab#2. The "panel to front" access is lost for the first tab created.
It still exists for the second tab.
10.) Move data from Tab#2 to Tab#1. "panel to front" is now lost for both tabs.


- I found this bug happens with multiple windows as well.
- This bug appears whenever I move data from one tab to the next. (Step 7 does not need to be executed
to see the bug).
- boomstick() also makes this bug appear, but I think it is the mcv.removeAllData(False) step which actually
is the problem rather than all of boomstick().

Thanks,
Joleen
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: loose panel control

Post by bobc »

Hi Joleen -

Thanks for the thorough description of the problem. I'm able to replicate the bug on my Windows 7 machine and I wrote it up as Inquiry 2401.

Thanks again -
Bob Carp
User avatar
dubaistay
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 12:44 pm
Location: Dubai
Contact:

Re: loose panel control

Post by dubaistay »

Hi,

Thanks for this useful information.
Post Reply