VIIRS bowtie correction not working

Errors and unexpected results
Post Reply
User avatar
hproe
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:46 pm

VIIRS bowtie correction not working

Post by hproe »

Hi -

In most recent 1.7beta1 builds the bowtie correction for VIIRS appears not to work (at least for the I-bands). In the build from 25 July the correction is fine.

HP
User avatar
tommy.jasmin
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:56 pm

Re: VIIRS bowtie correction not working

Post by tommy.jasmin »

Hi HP - Can we clarify the steps you are following here? Are you essentially:

1. Loading an I-Band granule
2. Subsetting in the bow-tie region
3. Using "Texture Quality" in the Layer Controls to correct?

When I try this, it at first appears the correction is fine, but when I zoom a bit, I see the deletion area is not quite filled in, as seen in the attached pic. Is this what you are referring to?
Attachments
VIIRS_I-Band_bowtie.png
User avatar
barryr
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: VIIRS bowtie correction not working

Post by barryr »

Hello HP,
Thanks for reporting the bug. One of the programmers checked in code today that he believes will fix this problem. It will be available in the nightly builds starting with tomorrow's (30 July 2016).

Thanks again,
Barry
User avatar
hproe
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:46 pm

Re: VIIRS bowtie correction not working

Post by hproe »

Hi Barry -

I discovered the bug when using 'loadVIIRSimage()'(alas, subsetting option still missing) and 'swathToGrid()' in a script. Anyway, with the 2016-07-30 build the line-filling is fine again. I have checked with both M- and I- granules, with the script as well as by subsetting manually.

Thanks a lot for the quick turn-around, HP
Post Reply