script saving an image sequence does not work correctly

Errors and unexpected results
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: script saving an image sequence does not work correctly

Post by bobc »

Hi HP -

I've run some tests this morning with setOffScreen(True) and setFullScreen and I'm noticing that the setFullScreenHeight() and setFullScreenWidth() values don't appear to be used in the output image, so perhaps setFullScreen() isn't working with setOffScreen(). Is this what you are seeing, or are you seeing a different problem? If this is the case, this is written up as Inquiry 332. This inquiry was closed about 3 years ago since we weren't using setOffScreen() in our scripting. Perhaps this can be re-evaluated.

Here's the script I ran to produce this problem:

Code: Select all

# define variables
winHeight = 800
winWidth = 1200
setOffScreen(True)

# dictionary to pass through loadADDEImage
addeParms = dict(
    server = 'adde.ssec.wisc.edu',
    dataset = 'RTIMAGES',
    descriptor = 'GE-IR',
    coordinateSystem = LATLON,
    location = (40,-80),
    size = (800,800),
    unit = 'BRIT',
    )

# pulling in satellite data, creating loop
satLoop = []
for p in range (-5,1):
    data = loadADDEImage(position=p, **addeParms)
    satLoop.append(data)

# build window, set to full screen, create layer and capture the movie
panel = buildWindow()
panel[0].setFullScreenHeight(winHeight)
panel[0].setFullScreenWidth(winWidth)
panel[0].setFullScreen()
layer = panel[0].createLayer('Image Sequence Display',satLoop)
writeMovie('C:/Users/rcarp/fullScreenTest.gif')

Since setOffScreen(True) is being used, you should be able to pass your height/width values directly into buildWindow() and this should work without having to go to full screen mode. For example:

Code: Select all

panel1 = buildWindow(height=winHeight,width=winWidth)
layer = panel1[0].createLayer('Image Sequence Display',satLoop)
writeMovie('C:/Users/myuser/fullScreenTest1.gif')

Thanks -
Bob
User avatar
hproe
Posts: 504
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:46 pm

Re: script saving an image sequence does not work correctly

Post by hproe »

Hi Bob -

This is exactly what I see as well: the display expands to physical full-screen. Interestingly, when you check width/height in View > Properties the width box is blank and height shows a value of 580.

HP
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: script saving an image sequence does not work correctly

Post by bobc »

Hi HP -

Thanks for the clarification. Reading a little more over Inquiry 332 that I linked earlier, I think that this problem is a related, but separate enough of an issue to be its own inquiry. I wrote this up as Inquiry 2118.

Thanks for reporting this -
Bob
Post Reply