Error when open HDF file in McIdas

How do I...?
User avatar
francoisborel
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:21 pm

Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by francoisborel »

Good morning everyone,

I'm trying to import in McIDAS an HDF file. I read the documentation and i add an local server with this data format :
– MODIS MOD 02 – Level-1B Calibrated Geolocated Radiances

But when i select the image type and try to browse, the application show me the error message in the attach file..

Could you help me ?

I thank you for all.

Best Regards
françois
Attachments
ScreenShot016.jpg
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by bobc »

Hello -

Can you please post your MOD02 file to our ftp? Once you do, let me know the file name and I'll give it a look. Also, where did you get the data from?

Thanks -
Bob Carp
McIDAS Help Desk
User avatar
francoisborel
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by francoisborel »

Hello Bob

Thank you a lot.

The filename is : MYD05_L2.A2010244.1940.051.2010251211955.hdf
I put it on your ftp in pub/incoming

I took this data on this link : http://browse.ceda.ac.uk/browse/badc/isccp_d2/data

Thank you.

Regards
françois
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by bobc »

Hello -

It looks like the issue is that we don't have a server for MYD05/MOD05 (Precipitable Water product), and you are attempting to use the MOD02 local servers.

We currently have the following local servers for MODIS data -
  • MODIS MOD 02 - Level-1B Calibrated Geolocated Radiances
  • MODIS MOD 04 - Aerosol Product
  • MODIS MOD 06 - Cloud Product
  • MODIS MOD 07 - Atmospheric Profiles
  • MODIS MOD 28 - Aerosol Product
  • MODIS MOD 35 - Cloud Mask
  • MODIS MOD R - Corrected Reflectance

Just as a reference, the Local ADDE Data Manager page in the McIDAS-V User's Guide covers the list of available local ADDE servers.

If you do have a MOD02/MYD02 file that isn't working, please let us know.

Thanks -
Bob
User avatar
francoisborel
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by francoisborel »

Hello Bob,
i'm sorry, i didn't return on this case since a lot of time...

During this time, i made what you explain and i have never get any data..
I search another data source and i find the National Snow & Ice Data Center, with a lot of data files of Numbus II beetwhen 1966 and 1972 (what i search night and day :-))...

I suggest something. I put on your ftp site a file named <francois_hdf.zip> here... Could you simply confirm me if McIdas can or not read data of these files ? I put 3 files (in case of ....)...

I thank you for all...

Cheers
françois
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by bobc »

Hello -

I'm glad you were able to find your data! This data can be read in and displayed in McIDAS-V. However, you will need to use a 1.7beta1 nightly build, not 1.6. If you don't have a 1.7beta1 nightly build, you can pick one up here:

http://www.ssec.wisc.edu/mcidas/software/v/unstable/
login and password are both: mcv

Note that the nightly builds are automatically built every day with the previous day's programming changes. Therefore, not everything has been fully tested and you may find some bugs.

To load the data, go to the General>Files/Directories, choose the "Grid files (netCDF/GRIB/OPeNDAP/GEMPAK)" data type, select your file, and click Add Source. Select a field to display (such as HRIR_Temp), a display type (such as Image Display) and click Create Display.

Please let me know if you have any problems/questions.

Thanks -
Bob
User avatar
francoisborel
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by francoisborel »

Hello Bob

I'm starting to dream !! :-)

Thank you..

Important question : Can i install this package on same computer that the 1.6 version ?

Cheers
françois
User avatar
francoisborel
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by francoisborel »

Sorry.. I'm trying and the installer allow me to install this second version..

I will see..
françois
User avatar
bobc
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by bobc »

Hello -

There are a couple of options:

  1. You can install the 1.7beta1 nightly into the same directory where 1.6 was installed. This will overwrite the 1.6 install and you will only have 1.7beta1 on your machine.
  2. You can install the 1.7beta1 nightly into a new directory. For example, I have 1.6 installed in C:/Users/rcarp/McV_1.6, and I have the 1.7beta1 nightly installed in C:/Users/rcarp/McV_1.7beta1. In my case, I can easily start up 1.6 or 1.7beta1 with either a desktop icon or from a Command Prompt window.

If you are seeing any errors when installing the nightly, please let me know.

Thanks -
Bob
User avatar
francoisborel
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Error when open HDF file in McIdas

Post by francoisborel »

I thank you for all.

I have intalled sur V1.7 in a different directory, et now i'm able to display my HDF files, and see some pictures of Nimbus 1966..

FAN-TAS-TIC !!!

But i have a little problem. When i'm opening several files (example 10 files), i see 10 elements in the formula list of the field Selector. And the problem is that i have to open properties of each files to see what is coverage (it's an orbital satellite)..

Is there a way to see, in a folder of xxx files, which files have a coverage on my region ? (Leeward Islands)..

Thank Bob... I continue to explore..

françois
Post Reply